S04 - Phase-controlled photoemission from individual clusters at surfaces

Project description

In project S04, we will explore photoelectron spectra of individual soft-landed silver clusters under excitation with with two-color phase-locked light by photoemission electron microscopy and time-dependent density functional theory. The plasmonic near field will be utilized for controlling the  photoelectron emission process in terms of energy and direction, depending on the relative phase of a two-color pulse. We will investigate interparticle and substrate coupling by carefully adapting the  respective systems. These studies may pave the way towards surface-based,  concerted nanoplasmonic electron emitters.

Cooperation projects

S01S02, S03, S05, S06, W01, W02, W03, W04, W05, W06, W07


  • Stroboscopic control and tracking of periodic states
    A. Dittus, N. Kruse, H. Wallner, L. Böttcher, I. Barke, S. Speller, J. Starke, and W. Just
    Nonlinear Dyn 112, 1261–1274 (2023)
    involved projects: S04, W06
  • Tailoring quantum trajectories for strong-field imaging
    A. Sanchez, V. Tulsky, K. Amini, B. Bruner, G. Alon, M. Krüger, X. Liu, T. Steinle, D. Bauer, N. Dudovich, and J. Biegert
    Optica  10(12), 1729-1736 (2023)
  • The N-shaped partition method: A novel parallel implementation of the Crank Nicolson algorithm
    Y. Lutsyshyn, F. Navarrete and D. Bauer
    Comput. Phys. Commun. 287, 108713 (2023)
    (also available on arXiv)
  • Three-dimensional femtosecond snapshots of isolated faceted nanostructures
    A. Colombo, S. Dold, P. Kolb, N. Bernhardt, P. Behrens, J. Correa, S. Düsterer, B. Erk, L. Hecht, A. Heilrath, R. Irsig, N. Iwe, J. Jordan, B. Kruse, B. Langbehn, B. Manschwetus, F. Martinez, K.-H. Meiwes-Broer, K. Oldenburg, C. Passow, C. Peltz, M. Sauppe, F. Seel, R. M. P. Tanyag, R. Treusch, A. Ulmer, S. Walz, T. Fennel, I. Barke, T. Möller, B. von Issendorff and D. Rupp
    Science Advances 9(8), eade5839 (2023)
  • The Scatman: an approximate method for fast wide-angle scattering simulations
    A. Colombo, J. Zimmermann, B. Langbehn, T. Moller, C. Peltz, K. Sander, B. Kruse, P. Tümmler, I. Barke, D. Rupp and T. Fennel
    J. Appl. Cryst. 55, 1232-1246 (2022)

Project leaders

Dr. Ingo Barke
Phone: +49 (0)381 498 6983
Email: ingo.barkeuni-rostockde

Prof. Dieter Bauer
Phone: +49 (0)381 498 6940
Email: dieter.baueruni-rostockde


University of Rostock
Institute of Physics

Albert-Einstein-Str. 23
18059 Rostock